About Us
Artists & Artworks
Program
Press
Visit Us
 
  • Speaker

    Lev Manovich (Russia)

    Lev Manovich is a professor at The Graduate Center, City University of New York and founder and director of Software Studies Initiativewhich works on the analysis and visualization of big cultural data. Manovich is the author of Software Takes Command (Bloomsbury Academic, 2013), Soft Cinema: Navigating the Database (The MIT Press, 2005), and The Language of New Media (The MIT Press, 2001) which was described as "the most suggestive and broad ranging media history since Marshall McLuhan."

  • Eleanor Gates-Stuart (United Kingdom)

    Eleanor Gates-Stuart is a Researcher with the Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science (CPAS) at the Australian National University and associated with the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO).

    Eleanor's ongoing research focus specialises on Science and Art having spent the last five years working with major research organisations on special projects. Her more recent successful project, StellrScope, was awarded to Eleanor by the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Government, the prestigious Centenary of Canberra Science Art Commission, supported by the Australian Federal Government and the CSIRO.

    The CSIRO was the host for this research, engaging Eleanor as the Science Art Fellow with the Food Futures Flagship and the Transformational Biology Capability Platform (TBCP) based at the Computational Infomatics (CIS) Research Division.

    Eleanor’s interests firmly crossover arts, science, technology and communication. Having received numerous awards, grants, and commissions in her career, Eleanor maintains an active international artistic profile continuing her own research and roles such as curator, exhibitor and director of media and science arts events. She was made an honorary Associate Research Professor (2010-14) at the University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) having successfully completed an International Residency at UCSC and exhibition of her “Finger Codes” Collection. She is a regular contributor to numerous professional associations, enjoys working on collaborations and publishing and presenting papers at various conferences in the UK, USA, Taiwan and Australia.

  • Erkki Huhtamo (Finland)

    Erkki Huhtamo holds a PhD in cultural history. He works as professor of media history and theory at the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA). His international career as a theorist and practitioner on the fields of media culture and media arts spans more than three decades. He has curated numerous exhibitions of new media art, and been a member of many festival committees and juries worldwide. He is widely acknowledged as one of founders of a new field of study known as media archaeology. His most recent book is a large monograph titled Illusions in Motion: Media Archaeology of the Moving Panorama and Related Spectacles (Cambridge, MA: The MIT Press, 2013).

  • Machiko Kusahara (Japan)

    Machiko Kusahara is Professor at the School of Culture, Media and Society, Waseda University and holds a Ph. D. in Engineering from University of Tokyo for her theoretical study on interplay between media culture, technology, art and society. She came into the field of digital media in early 1980s as a curator, critic and theorist in computer graphics and digital art. Since then she curated and wrote internationally and served as a jury for Ars Electronica, SIGGRAPH, ISEA, among many others. Currently her research is focused in two related fields. One is media art in Japan today including Device Art, and Japanese postwar avant-garde art. The other is early Japanese visual entertainment from Edo era utsushi-e (magic lantern show), late 19c panorama, to prewar optical toys.

    Essays in English include “Telerobotics and Art: Presence, Absence, and Knowledge in Telerobotics Art” (The Robot in the Garden, MIT Press, 2000), “From Ukiyo-e to Mobile Phone Screens: A Japanese Perspective” (Migrating Images, House of World Cultures, 2004), “They Are Born to Play: Japanese Visual Entertainment from Nintendo to Mobile Phones” (Art Inquiry, 2004), “Panorama Craze in Meiji Japan” (2006), “Device Art: A New Approach in Understanding Japanese Contemporary Media Art” (MediaArtHistories, MIT Press, 2007). “ ‘ We Will Open the Panorama-kan’ , The Beginning of the Panorama Craze in Meiji Era” (The Panorama in the Old World and the New, International Panorama Council, 2010), and “The ‘Baby Talkie’, Domestic Media, and the Japanese Modern”(Media Archaeology, UC Press, 2011).

關於本展
藝術家與作品介紹
推廣活動
媒體專區
參觀資訊
 
  • 講者介紹

    列夫‧曼諾維奇(俄羅斯)

    列夫.曼諾維奇,紐約市立大學研究中心教授,「軟體研究倡議」創立者兼主任,該計畫聚焦於巨量文化資料的分析與視覺化。曼諾維奇著有《軟體掛帥》(2013年,布魯姆斯伯里學術出版社)、《軟影院:資料庫導航》(2005年,麻省理工學院出版社)與《新媒體語言》(2001年,麻省理工學院出版社),而《新媒體語言》一書更被譽為是「繼馬歇爾·麥克盧漢之後最具啟發性且涵蓋範圍最廣之媒體史研究」。

  • 愛莉諾·蓋茲-斯圖瓦特(英國)

    愛莉諾·蓋茲-斯圖瓦特是澳洲國立大學澳洲國家公眾科學意識中心研究員,並與聯邦科學暨工業研究組織有合作關係。

    愛莉諾目前進行的研究聚焦於「科學與藝術」,在過去五年期間亦與各大研究機構合作進行若干特別計畫。近期成功的計畫為「恆星觀測鏡」(StellrScope),獲得澳洲首都領地政府獎助以及頗負盛名的坎培拉科學藝術委員會百年獎,亦獲得澳洲聯邦政府與聯邦科學暨工業研究組織支持。

    聯邦科學暨工業研究組織為此研究之基地。愛莉諾於此機構擔任科學藝術研究員,並與食品未來旗艦計畫以及計算資訊學研究群下的轉型生物學能力平台進行合作。

    愛莉諾的研究興趣橫跨藝術、科學、科技與傳播。在職業生涯中獲獎無數的她依然活躍於國際藝術舞台,除了繼續進行自己的研究計畫外亦身兼多角,包括策展人、參展者,以及各種媒體與科學藝術活動總監。她在加州大學聖塔克魯茲分校擔任國際駐校藝術家期間(2010-2014年),成功舉辦題為「指紋符碼」之收藏展,並獲得該校榮譽副研究教授之殊榮。她亦從固定參與眾多專業協會的活動當中享受合作之樂趣,同時亦出版或發表文章於英國、美國、台灣,以及澳洲等地的研討會。

  • 埃爾基·胡塔莫(芬蘭)

    埃爾基·胡塔莫擁有文化史博士學位,於加州大學洛杉磯分校擔任媒體史與媒體理論教授,具有橫跨三十年的媒體文化暨媒體藝術理論家與實踐者之從業經歷。他策劃過為數眾多的新媒體藝術展覽,亦持續擔任世界各地藝術節的委員與評審。外界普遍認定他為媒體考古學這門新研究領域的創建者之一。他最新的一本專書是《變動中的幻覺:移動式全景與相關景觀的媒體考古學》,於2013年由麻省理工學院出版社出版。

  • 草原真知子(日本)

    草原真知子為早稻田大學文化構想學部教授,以其對媒體文化、科技、藝術與社會之互動理論研究取得東京大學工程學博士學位。1980年代,她以電腦圖像與數位藝術策展人、評論家,以及理論家之身分涉足數位媒體領域,並開始在國際上策劃相關展覽與發表相關文章,曾獲邀擔任奧地利林茲電子藝術節、亞洲電腦圖學與互動技術會議暨展覽、國際電子藝術研討會等各種主要藝術活動的評審委員。目前她的研究聚焦於兩個相關領域,一為日本當代媒體藝術,包括設備藝術與日本戰後前衛藝術;二為日本早期視覺娛樂自江戶時代的影繪人形劇、十九世紀末的全景畫,至戰前時期的光學玩具之演進。

    草原真知子的英文著作包括〈遙控機器人學與藝術:遙控機器人藝術中的在場、不在場與知識〉,(收錄於《花園裡的機器人》,麻省理工學院出版社,2000年);〈從浮世繪到手機螢幕:一個日本觀點〉,(收錄於《遷移圖像》,世界文化之屋,2004年);〈注定愛玩:日本視覺娛樂──從任天堂到手機〉,(刊於Art Inquiry,2004年);〈日本明治時期的全景畫狂熱〉,(2006年);〈設備藝術:理解日本當代媒體藝術的新途徑〉,(收錄於《媒體藝術史》,麻省理工學院出版社,2007年);〈「我們將建造全景畫館」:明治時期活動景畫狂熱之發端〉,(收錄於《新舊世界的全景畫》,國際全景畫理事會,2010年);以及〈「早期有聲電影」:國內媒體與日本現代〉,(收錄於《媒體考古學》,加州大學出版社,2011年)。